"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Sunday, 8. April 2007

Ghazal - Gulzar



An old season has returned; a memory laden wind as well. This doesn't happen too often; that she is longing as well.

In memory's rain when the eyelids begin to get wet, This sunk heart's disgrace smells fragrant as well.

Every face appears as two in this flooded mirror of mine. On every journey her fluid shadow follows me as well.

The journey towards silence is silent as well. I hear her words again; I speak again as well.

Translated from the Hindustani*

* I have taken liberties with my translation of this (much more sombre) ghazal in order to make it fit my current mood of longing. Listen to it sung by Jagjit Singh here. Also this is a translation of Gulzar's (I love the man's voice as well) preface to the singing.




Translations

... comment












online for 7998 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: