"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Friday, 12. May 2006

Early This Morning - Gulzar



Early this morning, when I heard A knock on the door in a dream, I opened the door and looked out.

And saw that some guests from across The border were standing there, travel weary. Their faces looked familiar. So I welcomed Them into the courtyard, gave them water To wash up, made some thick maize rotis For breakfast on the coal stove, and laid Out cots for them to recline. These guests had brought my share Of jaggery from the past harvests.

When I opened my eyes I saw that There was no one here, yet the coals Were still warm, and my mouth was Still sticky with jaggery.

It must have been a dream. Yes, it was a dream.

I heard that at the border, last night There was gunfire. I heard that at The border last night, few dreams Were summarily executed.

Translated from Hindustani




Translations

... comment












online for 7998 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: