"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Saturday, 29. October 2011

Ghazal - a translation



His face is the lamp, and this world the shade. Yet he hid himself from the world, vieling his face.

The councilor hasn't seen my ardor's strength Nor has he seen scattered locks across my face.

In all event before my eyes his face. I haven't seen the moon since the night of seperation.

All kinds of beauties had come out on parade. To confess, my stunned eyes were blind to all.

What had happened in the chaos of passion, I don't know. But when I came to, I found in my hand the torn collar.

Translated from the Urdu of Asghar Gondvi's "Zahid ne mera hasil-e-eman nahin dekha" (h/t to Aisha for putting up Abida's rendition here)




Translations

... comment












online for 7993 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: