"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Sunday, 8. April 2007

A Meme: Five Things



[1] I used to be moderately obese during my early teenage years.

[2] Even as a young man, I used to cry very easily, as well as get angry very easily. I have since gotten better at pretending indifference.

[3] Well into the early years of high school, I used to play by myself in a sandlot in my parents' backyard. I still can't pass by a Lego store without feeling strong nostalgia for those happy and solitary evenings.

[4] Many significant shifts in my life, including the geographical migration to this new world, and even more recently the getting the job position I am currently employed in, were in part triggered by certain relationships and certain women. And I often wonder, is this because in my mind I unconsciously link love to having to prove myself some external other?

[5] In my subconscious, I wrestle with the ideas of "suffering" (and relatedly "sin")and "happiness" (and the question, "what is good?") constantly. Which is why I think Woody Allen's dark comedies appeal to the optimistic pessimist in me.

Note: Elizabeth had tagged me with this meme: "Five things you may not know about me". And since I am supposed to infect others, you, kind reader, if you are reading this bathetic list, consider yourself tagged.




My Daily Notes

... comment

 

Blue

www.prettybluesalwar.blogspot.com

response to meme


Re #4: I've always found change to be intrinsically entangled with human relationship. That is, when I think of the biggest changes I've made in my own life they've also come because of my interactions with another person. I certainly don't ever decide to change my life after, say, reading Redbook or watching television. It's only through connection that I learn how to discover a new direction.

(ooh, that rhymes... not on purpose, so ignore)

... link  

 

Which goes on to show


that there are no mistakes in life; only lessons to learn and diges. And perhaps, that it is all good?

... link  


... comment











online for 7992 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Latest:
Comments:
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: