"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Thursday, 9. September 2004

SOLITUDE -1 - Tomas Transtromer



Right here I was nearly killed one night in February.

My car slewed on the ice, sideways,
into the other lane. The oncoming cars ¡Ö
their headlights ¡Ö came nearer.

My name, my daughters, my job
slipped free and fell behind silently,
farther and farther back, I was anonymous, like a schoolboy in a lot surrounded by enemies.

The approaching traffic had powerful lights.
They shone on me while I turned and turned
the wheel in a transparent fear that moved like eggwhite. The seconds lengthened out ¡Ö making more room ¡Ö
they grew long as hospital buildings.

It felt as if you could just take it easy
and loaf a bit
before the smash came.

Then firm land appeared: a helping sandgrain
or a marvelous gust of wind. The car took hold
and fish-tailed back across the road. A signpost shot up, snapped off ¡Ö a ringing sound ¡Ö tossed into the dark.

Came all quiet. I sat there in my seatbelt
and watched someone tramp through the blowing snow
to see what had become of me.




Big Book Of Poetry

... comment












online for 7990 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Latest:
Comments:
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: