"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Thursday, 9. January 2003

Codicil - Derek Walcott



Schizophrenic, wrenched by two styles, one a hack's hired prose, I earn my exile. I trudge this sickle, moonlit beach for miles,

tan, burn to slough off this live of ocean that's self-love.

To change your language you must change your life.

I cannot right old wrongs. Waves tire of horizon and return. Gulls screech with rusty tongues

Above the beached, rotting pirogues, they were a venomous beaked cloud at Charlotteville.

Once I thought love of country was enough, now, even if I chose, there is no room at the trough.

I watch the best minds rot like dogs for scraps of flavour. I am nearing middle age, burnt skin peels from my hand like paper, onion-thin, like Peer Gynt's riddle.

At heart there is nothing, not the dread of death. I know too many dead. They're all familiar, all in character,

even how they died. On fire, the flesh no longer fears that furnace mouth of earth,

that kiln or ashpit of the sun, nor this clouding, unclouding sickle moon withering this beach again like a blank page.

All its indifference is a different rage.




Big Book Of Poetry












online for 7989 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Latest:
Comments:
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: