"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Thursday, 12. December 2002

Few such words



I began to speak and spoke not, and the words stuck in my throat flare now like a poem, this one I write.

I open and close the book again and again. I don't find a few thousand mouths in me, like the thousand mouths of a river in a far away country, I need to write this song I began to and forgot, helpless

I am, unable to find the words to pluck as fruit from a tree or words like unsteady planets wobbling in their orbits or words that simply fall as snow falls softly in a dark night, soundlessly.

My words are hard: as a rock, as me, or the lines that etch my face, useless words. I need words as fluid as flags waving in the wind, as fluid as a laugh,

a silver fish travelling up the river of my blood, of a woman dressed in dreams, that beat their wings around her as they take off like birds into the evening sky, across the blankness of unfilled sheets.

Will you bring me, few such words?

2002:12:12 01:00 Atlanta For S.B.




My Poems

... comment












online for 8016 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Latest:
Comments:
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: