"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Sunday, 1. December 2002

Evening that is past - Faiz Ahmed Faiz



The evening of seperation came upon me and passed on, there was just my broken heart which somehow stuck together and there was my tottering life that somehow didn't fall.

And in the assembly of these thoughts,as my body is set on fire to light the rooms of the night, clear pain as translucnet as a bright moon has somehow risen over the dusks of this exile.

And when I remembered you, all my mornings became perfumed and when you flowed through me like blood, all my nights flapped like clean wrung clothes hanging on straight lines.

I tell myself that I should wipe my heart clean but when it's time to confess, words change without violition into something different, of unwillingess to forget you.

And where have all the travellers of the night gone, O Faiz, and where was the breeze left behind and when did the morning vanish into this endless night that came after the evening.

that evening of seperation that came upon me and passed on, there was just my broken heart which somehow stuck together and there was my tottering life that somehow didn't fall.

2002:12:01 20:30 Atlanta

My translation of Faiz Ahmed Faiz's ghazal: "shaam-e-firaaq ab na puuchh aaii aur aake Tal gaii". It describes my desolate state of heart and mind this evening. Hope others are more peaceful and more at rest that I am.




Translations

... comment












online for 8016 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Latest:
Comments:
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: