"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Thursday, 18. January 2007

Ghazal - Kafi Azmi



The world that I desperately seek isn’t here to be found. Out here a new earth and a new sky aren’t to be found.

And even when I do manage to find a new earth and sky, No mortal who might be living between them is to be found.

I have been standing here, amidst this dense forest of faces, But the glance that I desire to meet is nowhere to be found.

The arrow that went clean through my heart has been unearthed. But on it, O the hands that pulled the bow string aren’t to be found.

Why worry about the existence or non existence of God When my footprints by my own feet aren’t be found?

There is my village, and there are its wood stoves. Coals flicker but their smoke is not to be found!

Translated from the Urdu. Also listen to a version of this ghazal




Translations

... comment












online for 7998 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: