"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Wednesday, 13. September 2006

A Lullaby



To you little babe, to my love for you, and to this life in which I can love you shall I sing a lullaby?

I beg the wind to caress you not any harder than the notes of this song. I wish on my heart that you hair not be ruffled by anything rougher than these fingers passing through.

To you little babe, to my love for you, and to this life in which I can love you shall I sing a lullaby?

Over these eyes, in which dreams are not yet dry, resting in my lap, to please not let any wet shadows fall, I plead the mist and cloud.

Please do not thunder, O clouds, on this day, please float away. You sing too, O koyel, as if this lullaby was yours, Please sprinkle your honeyed notes over my dozing babe.

In this space between day and dark, in this room in which torrents are silent, this rocking lap where my babe sleeps, I request you both, red sun and gentle moon, to hum this lullaby too.

To you little babe, to my love for you, and to this life in which I can love you, shall I sing a lullaby?

Translated from the Telugu of "O Papa Lali"




Translations

... comment












online for 8013 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: