"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Monday, 15. May 2006

A Poison Tree - William Blake



I was angry with my friend: I told my wrath, my wrath did end. I was angry with my foe: I told it not, my wrath did grow.

And I watered it in fears
Night and morning with my tears,
And I sunned it with smiles
And with soft deceitful wiles.

And it grew both day and night,
Till it bore an apple bright,
And my foe beheld it shine,
And he knew that it was mine -

And into my garden stole
When the night had veiled the pole;
In the morning, glad, I see
My foe outstretched beneath the tree.

Today I finally and decisively ended a saga of eating fruit from a poison tree, whose false fruit have long deceived me. While this is somewhat painful - it is interesting that even the end of what was merely a delusion or a phantasam can be painful if one had belived in it long enough; witness all the stark raving people in mental institutions or the stories of Kafka - coming out from under the shadows of a poison tree is extremely liberating, for one begins to live again, and life is liberating!




Big Book Of Poetry

... comment












online for 8014 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: