"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Sunday, 6. October 2002

Happiness - Raymond Carver



So early it's still almost dark out. I'm near the window with coffee, and the usual early morning stuff that passes for thought.

When I see the boy and his friend walking up the road
to deliver the newspaper.

They wear caps and sweaters, and one boy has a bag over his shoulder. They are so happy they aren't saying anything, these boys.

I think if they could, they would take each other's arm. It's early in the morning, and they are doing this thing together.

They come on, slowly. The sky is taking on light, though the moon still hangs pale over the water.

Such beauty that for a minute death and ambition, even love, doesn't enter into this.

Happiness. It comes on unexpectedly. And goes beyond, really, any early morning talk about it.


When I awoke this morning with a bad groggy feeling and later around 7.00-7.30 am ish checked my email, which I was doing after a few days, I saw this poem that was sent out on the Wondering Minstrels poetry list, in my mail box.

I realise that this is exactly what the Divine within me wanted to tell me, that happiness is more of a state of mind and less of anything else and that it's only by simplicity that we may go towards being in that state more often that we may do now.

It also brought back memories of walks I took with people I intensely loved on various continents and how very truely happiness was manifest in all those silences between our words and each of our footfalls.

As Thoreaou said, "Simplify, simplify for more is less and less is more." This would be my thought for the day, today.

Love. Sashi




Big Book Of Poetry

... comment












online for 7984 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Latest:
Comments:
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: