"











Buoy the population of the soul
Toward their destination before they drown
~ Robert Pinsky
May 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031
October
>
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 License.
You're not logged in ... login

RSS Feed

made with antville
helma object publisher


Tuesday, 20. March 2007

Parodos - Louise Gluck



Long ago, I was wounded. I learned to exist, in reaction, out of touch with the world: I'll tell you what I meant to be- a device that listened. Not inert: still. A piece of wood. A stone.

Why should I tire myself, debating, arguing? Those people breathing in the other beds could hardly follow, being uncontrollable like any dream- Through the blinds, I watched the moon in the night sky, shrinking and swelling-

I was born to a vocation: to bear witness to the great mysteries. Now that I've seen both birth and death, I know to the dark nature these are proofs, not mysteries-

Note: The opening poem From Gluck's latest volume of poems, "Ararat" - the book that I am carrying around this week in my overcoat, to read in the silvers of found time.




Big Book Of Poetry

... comment












online for 8002 Days
last updated: 10/31/17, 3:37 PM
Headers - Past & Present
Home
About

 
Shiny Markers In The Sea:

Regular Weekend Addas: